Frequently Asked Questions

What should I bring?

Bring your own mat. Mats are available for purchase. We do have a few available for loan. We provide other props. Your teacher will assist you with props you’ll need for class. You are welcome to have your water bottle at your mat.

What should I wear?

Wear clothes that are comfortable and allow for movement. Leggings or yoga pants are ideal so your knees and feet are visible. We practice in bare feet, you might prefer to have socks available for the opening meditation and final relaxation. Please refrain from strong perfumes or essential oils.

Where should I start?

We recommend a Beginning Series. Hatha is a good place to begin, as is Gentle Flow and Yoga for Strength and Flexibility. Restorative and Yin are appropriate for beginners as well. Feel free to contact us with questions. We want your experience to be as comfortable as possible!

What is Om?

Om is a “seed” mantra, a sound from which other sounds arise. The four states of consciousness are represented – waking, dreaming, sleeping and pure consciousness. We might chant om at the beginning or at the end of class. Feel free to join in or listen to the vibration around you.

What are the 8 Limbs of Yoga?
The 8 Limbs of Yoga come from The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali, originally an oral tradition, the Yoga Sutra was written down in approximately 200 AD. The ancient text describes yoga as the “stilling of the fluctuations of the mind”. The rest of the sutra encompasses steps to achieve that goal. The core of the Yoga Sutra are the eight limbs, a practical guide along the path of yoga.

The eight limbs are as follows:

1 Yama – Moral precepts

  • Ahimsa– Non-harming, regard for all living things
  • Satya – Truthfulness
  • Asteya – Non-stealing
  • Brahmacharya – preserving the vital energy
  • Aparigraha – Non-greed

2 Niyamas – Personal observances

  • Sauca – Purity and Cleanliness
  • Santosa – Contentment
  • Tapas – Discipline
  •  Svadyaya – Self-Study
  • Isvarapranidhana – Surrendering to the Spirit